Saint Maybe 'Things As They Are' 12inch

by Fort Lowell Records



Saint Maybe is as much a journey as a band. It speeds down Highway 1960, hangs a left at Psychedelic Boulevard and pulls up in front of your house. Out steps Oliver Ray [Patti Smith] and company, unpacking memories of AM radio and erecting signs to the future mapped out by the beat poets. Saint Maybe is as fresh now as the birth of rock and roll was then.

This is high-octane music, propelled by Oliver Ray’s slashing guitar that soars over Winston Watson’s [Bob Dylan, Warren Zevon, Robyn Hitchcock, Alice Cooper, Perry Farrell, Greyhound Soul] solid rhythms and Chris Sauer’s [Hollywood Knights, The Mod Squad, Amy Rude] explorations of the side roads en route. The songs celebrate today and explore the future using rock and roll as their guide. “Everything At Once (And More)” takes notice of the vain desire to live forever before we die, absorbs the contradiction, and clears a space for living. The fragile, crystalline beauty of “Things As They Are” meditates on the reality of the here and now. “Everything That Rises” celebrates the capacity for past and present to be realized beyond the moment in an ever-recurring renewal.

Saint Maybe’s debut album Things As They Are features additional musicians: Craig Schumacher [Neko Case, Animal Collective, Iron & Wine, Calexico], J. Fen Ikner [Seashell Radio], Michael P. Nordberg, Thøger Lund [Giant Sand], Kevin Pate, Chris Giambelluca [John Doe, Jackson Browne, Andrew Bird, Calexico, Neko Case, Bob Mould], Connor Gallaher, Naim Amor, Tommy Larkins [Richard Buckner], Tracy Shedd, and Laura Kepner-Adney [Silver Thread Trio].

Things As They Are is solid rock and roll from start to finish. Saint Maybe will make you laugh, cry and dance. It is heady stuff – a distillation of pure rock spirit.


Previous Press Accolades for Saint Maybe

“Saint Maybe, Tucson’s Supergroup. The group's folk, blues guitar, infused rock, washed over the [audience] like a dream. Saint Maybe makes my list of “must watch” bands. There is something mysterious about their take on the Tucson sound. There is some surprise element woven in that I can’t quite compare to any other band. There are no maybes about it, something wonderful is about to happen.”
- BScene Live

“Saint Maybe has a cast of some of Tucson's finest musicians. [They play] dynamic rock 'n' roll that [makes] me rethink the concept of "desert rock." The flavor they inject into their songs—the meandering, ethereal guitar riffs; the psychedelic solos; the pleasantly undulating current of the rhythm guitar—has a vaguely familiar Tucson sound, but it also twists and turns, and really can't be directly compared to anything else Tucson has to offer.”
- Tucson Weekly


All songs recorded and mixed by Craig Schumacher and engineered by Chris Schultz at Wavelab Studio between the Fall of 2009 and Winter 2012, except Everything That Rises recorded and mixed and Way With Words mixed by Jim Waters at Waterworks Studio. Audio mastering by Jim Blackwood at AZPM Mastering, and vinyl mastering by JJ Golden at Golden Mastering. All songs written by Oliver Ray, Hierophany Music ASCAP. Cover Art: “Sea of Timor” (2007) by Philip Taaffe, Courtesy of Gagosian Gallery.


RIYL: Wilco, The Traveling Wilburys, Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers, The Silos, Bob Dylan


released November 20, 2012

Fort Lowell Records



all rights reserved


Fort Lowell Records Raleigh, North Carolina

An independent record label, releasing damn good music since 2009.

Raleigh NC
Tucson AZ
Jacksonville FL

contact / help

Contact Fort Lowell Records

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code